Back to program

Anna Geniushene


  • Muzio Clementi: Sonata E flat major Op.1 No.1.
  • Petr Iljič Čajkovskij : Two Pieces Op. 1
  • Mieczysław Weinberg : Berceuse Op. 1
  • Fryderyk Chopin: Rondo in C Minor, Op. 1
  • Robert Schumann: Abegg Variations Op. 1
  • Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Sonata No. 5 in C major Op. 135
  • Valentin Silvestrov: Four Pieces for Piano Op. 302
  • Sergej Prokofjev: Piano Sonata No. 4 in C minor Op. 29


  • Anna Geniushene - piano


400 CZK
5 11 2023
Sunday 15.00

Last year’s Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in Texas brought, in addition to artistic drama and obligatory suspense, raised eyebrows of the American public at the participation of Russian artists. Among them was Anna Geniushene, a 31-year-old native of Moscow. However, the atmosphere and relationships between the performers left many puzzled as the young pianists confessed about the gravity of the situation, with war destroying lives in Ukraine and cosmopolitan music community all over the world. Geniushene, who lives with her husband, also a pianist, in Lithuania, said that as an artist she felt obliged to show solidarity with Ukraine. She said that when she tried to immerse herself in the rendition of Brahms’s sorrowful four Ballades in the quarter-final round of the competition, she had before her eyes the sadness and suffering in Ukraine. The photo of the winners of the Texas quadrennial is moving – silver Geniushene in an embrace with the laureates from Korea and – Ukraine. This concert is presented as part of the Steinway Prize Winner Concerts Network.