Daniel Barenboim – CANCELLED
back to the program

Daniel Barenboim – CANCELLED



Dear audience members, 


We greatly appreciate your interest in Daniel Barenboim’s piano recital, which was to have taken place on 12 December 2020 as part of the Rudolf Firkušný Piano Festival. Current public health measures do not permit us to realise this concert with audience members present in the hall. 


The price of admission will be refunded in full to all holders of tickets to the concert. Purchases will be refunded automatically to the payment card used to buy the tickets. Thank you for your patience. 


We would also like to take this opportunity to share some good news – the programme for the 2021 Prague Spring Festival has been announced, and you can already choose from among the wide selection of concerts on our website at www.festival.cz. 


Yours sincerely, 


The Prague Spring Festival 

Date of Event

Saturday, 12.12. 2020 from 19.30


  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor Op. 13 "Pathétique"
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 21 in C major Op. 53 "Waldstein"
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: 33 Variations in C major on a Waltz by Diabelli Op. 120


  • Daniel Barenboim - piano

A native of Buenos Aires, pianist and conductor Daniel Barenboim can, without exaggeration, be described as a living legend of classical music. He first appeared at the Prague Spring in 1966 with the English Chamber Orchestra – even back then he was introduced to audiences as both pianist and conductor. His next visit took place in 1986 with the Orchestre de Paris, where he was the chief conductor between 1975 and 1989. Recently he left an indelible mark on the hearts of the Czech public, when he opened the 2017 Prague Spring Festival with the Vienna Philharmonic, and for the occasion he performed Smetana’s cycle all over Europe, even continuing the performances in the following seasons.


For the closing concert of this year’s Rudolf Firkušný Piano Festival he will be performing a recital in honour of Ludwig van Beethoven – only a few days after this concert the world will be marking the 250th anniversary of the composer’s birth. The evening will conclude with Beethoven’s great Variations on a Waltz by Diabelli. In 1819 the composer and music publisher Anton Diabelli composed a 32-bar waltz in C major and sent it to established Austrian composers with the hope that each would compose a single variation. About fifty of them accepted Diabelli’s challenge. One composer Diabelli approached was Beethoven, but instead of sending back a variation, he wrote thirty-three. The resulting work lasts an hour and climaxes with an enormous fugue. Alongside Bach’s Goldberg Variations, the Diabelli Variations constitute the pinnacle of the variation genre for keyboard instruments.