Back to program

Alexander Melnikov

A musical journey through time. Five instruments on a single concert platform – from the harpsichord and fortepiano to the modern piano 


  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue BWV 903
  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Fantasia in F sharp minor Wq 67
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Fantasie in C minor KV 475
  • Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Fantasie in F sharp minor Op. 28 „Sonate écossaise“
  • Fryderyk Chopin: Fantasie in F minor Op. 49
  • Alexandr Nikolajevič Skrjabin: Fantasie in B minor Op. 28
  • Alfred Schnittke: Improvisation and Fugue


  • Alexander Melnikov - harpsichord, historical pianos, piano
5 11 2024
Tuesday 19.30

The festival appearance of Alexander Melnikov promises something truly unique. The stage of the Rudolfinum’s Dvořák Hall will accommodate five instruments from various historical eras. This graduate of the Moscow Conservatory, whose musical development was shaped by his encounters with the legendary Sviatoslav Richter, will begin the concert with the earliest model, the Baroque harpsichord. From the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, via two fortepianos and a French Romantic instrument from the workshop of Ignaz Pleyel, he will shift along an imaginary timeline towards a modern Steinway grand, on which, drawing on the music of Alexander Scriabin and Alfred Schnittke, he will bring this imaginative concert to a close.