Back to program

Ivan & Lukáš Klánský


  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Six Variations in F major Op. 34
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 32 in C minor Op. 111
  • Antonín Dvořák: Slavonic Dances, series II Op. 72


  • Ivan Klánský - piano
  • Lukáš Klanský - piano


300 - 700 CZK
5 11 2023
Sunday 19.30

Professor Ivan Klánský is one of the living legends of the Czech piano school. With some exaggeration, this outstanding performer and a sought-after teacher who left an indelible mark on the music scene could be called the Czech Bach. Although he is not a composer, five of his children are professional musicians. For his concert at the Rudolf Firkušný Piano Festival, he invited his son Lukáš who himself is a successful and respected soloist. In the second half of the evening, they will play together the popular Dvořák’s Slavonic Dances, series II. If the end of the concert will be rather on a lighter note, the first half will show Ivan Klánský as an exquisite interpreter of the most classical pieces of the piano repertoire. He will play Beethoven’s last Sonata, a work of deep immersion and extraordinary originality which prompted an artistic response from many of the composer’s followers.